Sunday, September 2, 2012

More Pictures!

Ah, I totally forgot to upload some pictures that I took when I went exploring!

One day, I was supposed to go to a picnic for ALTs in Southern Nagano. I found out that, near the river where the picnic was being held, there was a really cool-looking temple! Because I still don't have a phone, I looked up the directions on Google Maps and tried to memorize how to get from my apartment to the temple and how to get from the temple to the picnic area. I realized that most of my journey was going to be an uphill hike, but I didn't realize how difficult it was going to be on a mamachari bike instead of a road bike.  I miss road bikes... T^T

The first part of the journey went well.   got snacks at a local convenience store (called conbinis [コンビニ]) and also tried a famous donut store chain in Japan called Mr. Donut. I really don't see what all the hype about Mr. Donut is...it's really not better than any of the donut places that I've been to in America. =/ I guess that it's a good thing though because, even if I have cravings for donuts when I'm here, I won't want to go to Mr. Donut. I'm sure my body will thank me for not going to a donut store that often haha
 
After I went to Mr. Donut, I kept going uphill all the way to almost the base of the mountain range nearby. I thought I was getting myself lost, but I managed to find the temple eventually.  The place I went to is a beautiful temple called Kozenji Temple (光前寺). I took lots of pictures that you can see below!  :)

 The entrance




 You can buy omikuji for a small fee at shrines.  These are random omikuji are chosen from a box, and you basically hope that your fortune is good!  You tie them up here when you're done.





 You wash your hands and mouth here (*no, you don't drink the water...ewww lol)


 Another picture of ema...you write a wish on these blocks and post them here!




After I went to the temple, I got lost and couldn't find my way to the picnic, so I went home and did housework.  It's tough not having a phone...kinda scary because I get lost so often!  If I get too lost, I could use a phone to call someone for help or use a map, but I don't have that lifeline yet, so I'm scared to venture out too far.

Anyways, mission...half complete!  I'm sad I missed out on meeting new people, but I'm sure I'll see them around another time.  ^_^

That's all for now!  :)

2 comments:

  1. So much traveling hahaha. Quite different from Ryan's posts lol. either that or Ryan just doesnt want to share with us his fun traveling experiences. How goes the schooling Ms. Legstrong? =)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ryan is much more eloquent lol I have the same two schools each week. Sometimes there isn't much new material to write about... >.<;; Schooling is ok! Difficult, but sometimes rewarding working with the students who actually work when told to lol

      Delete