Tuesday, September 11, 2012

1st Class By Myself

I had fun with the students in my first solo class! Most of them didn't really treat me like a teacher though... :/ In fact, once I told them that it was only me today, almost everyone threw up their hands and yelled "woohoo!!!!" That's when I knew that the informational part of this class was going to hell.

I managed to get all of the vocab and grammar points in that I normally would have, but it's so difficult when students really don't care about studying at all. Some students were really good! They actually did their best on the worksheet I gave them. They worked with their partner. Most slept. They seemed to take it as a free period.

I did get to speak to some of the troublemakers...they aren't bad. They're actually willing to participate as long as it's easy, but they lose attention really fast in their own little group. They were making lots of "Sensei looks good!!", "Sensei wa kirei (pretty)!!", and "Beautiful, Beautiful!!!" during one part of the class and I was like o.o;; "Boyfriend ga iru!" but it didn't seem to deter them. The class gets really loud really quickly. :/ Some were surprisingly well-behaved though. I gotta hand it to em. They did their best even when the rest of the class was distracting! :]

I did my best...and I think they like me more (maybe not as a teacher, but hopefully they will participate more next class!)!

Later I will post pictures!!  (three updates in a day?!?!?  WHAT IS THIS...?!)

No comments:

Post a Comment