Thursday, January 24, 2013

Winter Vacation Pt.2

On New Years Day, we said goodbye to Ryan's family in Taiwan and flew back into Narita airport, where we met up with Ryan and Raina's mom.

We spent the night in Tokyo, then Ryan had to wake up super early to get his glasses back from Haneda airport. We met up in Ueno and decided to eat at nearby street that sells amazing food. We shared a kebab wrap/pita thingie that was actually pretty spicy! It brought me back to San Diego for a brief moment...I really miss Layla's Jamaican food! I really miss many foods from America... ; _ ;

After the brief 懐かしい moment, we started our long journey aboard the day bus to Aomori. Because they have tourist visas, Raina and Ryan's mom were able to get a really good deal on the train system, and thus, opted to take the much faster Shinkansen to Aomori at a later time. Soooo jealous...the Shinkansen is so nice and has so much leg room...

When we got to Aomori, we didn't have much time to rest, because the very next morning, we took a ferry to Hakodate, Hokkaido! Hakodate has been voted as one of the best cities with the best night view quite a few times, so we started off the trip by taking the Hakodate Ropeway to the top of the mountain overlooking the city. Although it was freezing (-10C when we landed), it was an absolutely beautiful view.


Later, we visited a shrine (sidenote: I am convinced that shrines look a ton prettier in really shitty weather conditions) and then decided to have dinner. If that were just it, I would've been warm and happy, but Pumpkin had other things on his mind as he decided to judo-throw me into a pile of snow. That bastard. =___= So, of course, I had to throw him into the snow too! Or rather, since I can't throw him (curse my lack of martial arts knowledge), I had to at least bring him down with me...

Sopping wet and cold after our snow fight, we went to a famous burger joint chain in Hakodate called The Lucky Pierrot. Each restaurant supposedly has a different interior theme. The first one we went to had a Santa theme. There were Santas. Everywhere.  o.o;;

Kinda reminds me of my grandparents' house during Christmas...
I would go as far to say that the Lucky Pierrot we went to was not the craziest one out there, because the next one that we saw was Mother Mary-themed.

You heard me right. And yes, that IS Mother Mary holding a hamburger plate...
Wtf, right?? Only in Japan...

The next day, we went to the morning markets. Hakodate is very famous for their seafood, especially ika (squid). In fact, a few shops served a type of squid that appeared to be live! They take the brains out, put it on a bowl of rice, and then serve it to you raw. Just when you thought it was dead, they drizzle some soy sauce over it, and it starts writhing!!! It still has some reflexes even though it has no brains, so it does its best to escape from the pain-inducing soy sauce. We watched a video of a man trying to eat this runaway squid. It didn't look fun at all...the poor man worked so hard, but the suction cups hurt his throat and kept gripping at his tongue.  Needless to say, all of us were repulsed by this video, but somehow, we couldn't stop watching it! I think, in the end, he said 「あぁ...無理 (impossible)だな」...or something to that extent... Yeah. There was NO WAY any of us were gonna try that haha

Yeah...imagine trying to eat this buddy...

Anyways, we looked at many menus outside of the shops at the morning market...this is what some of the "menus" looked like (picture taken from the internet...^^;). Japan often has many visual aids for their menus...which is often a delightful sign for foreigners! I'm getting better at reading kanji, but these visuals are always super helpful.


It was super difficult trying to find a happy medium between Raina's extreme dislike of many sea foods and Ryan's need for the food to be decently cheap (although, I really don't blame him...he was pretty much paying for everyone the entire trip). If the food was cheap, it was usually a seafood that Raina didn't want to try...and if Raina or Ryan's mom wanted it, it was usually kinda expensive. Their mom also doesn't eat very meaty stuff, so our dietary restrictions were pretty restrictive ^^;

We ended up eating many different types of seafood over the course of the trip in Hakodate, like uni (sea urchin), hotate (scallop), crab (by itself and in the form of soup, kani-shiru), shrimp, squid tempura, delicious dried squid, and many other foods like ramen (all of the cold places in Japan really know how to make ramen right lol)! Japan really does its seafood well...it's so fresh and it literally melts in your mouth. ...I honestly don't know if I'll be able to eat Japanese food back in America after I come back from Japan. :/

Well, after the morning market, we took the cable cars to Goryoukaku, a star-shaped fort in Hakodate. There is a really tall tower at that fort too!

Goryoukaku Tower

The fort was built just before the Meiji Restoration period to protect from Russian invasion. It was also once a battleground for one of Japan's civil wars. Today, the Magistrate's office in the fort has been restored and it's available for public viewing! We went inside and saw a video about its rebuilding...it was truly amazing to see all the effort and craftsmanship that went into rebuilding it and making it as close to the original as possible.

After warming up inside the Magistrate's office, we ventured outside into the snow once more. My warmth, however, was short-lived once again, as Ryan decided to judo-throw me (yet again) into another pile of snow. All the Japanese people didn't really need to know English to understand that my shouting "I'M GONNA KILL YOU!" and subsequent Pumpkin-chasing, meant war! A snowball fight ensued...but we called a truce :P After the snowball fight had ceased, I was really happy. Not just because that ceasefire meant that my frozen hands could begin to thaw, but also because this was another reminder that I could be anywhere with him, even outside in less-than-ideal weather conditions, and still have lots of fun just being with him. I'm really lucky to have this guy :)

Later that night, we went to an onsen to warm up in that freezing cold weather. After showering off, I went into the pools, which were super hot compared to any other pool I've been in! Anyways, I noticed a sign with 4 temperatures and kanji next to all of them. I only noticed 3 pools inside the onsen and didn't think twice about it. After I came out, Ryan asked me how the rotenburo (open-air bath) was...and became really disappointed after all of us didn't notice that bath. Turns out that he had specifically chosen to go to this onsen because of this open-air bath...so, after a bit of moping, I decided to zip back in and try the rotenburo out. It was one of the most relaxing places that I've been to in Japan. Something about being outside in the beautiful winter wonderland, watching the snow fall, and feeling the mixture of the hot and cold was so breathtaking! I'm so glad that I chose to go back in...because I definitely wouldn't be able to experience that back in Komagane. Thanks Pumpkin! <3

The last day, after returning to the morning market, we tried to get a close-up view to the harbor, but were unable to get very close to it...so we ended up going to a place with some pretty amazing views...

We had wanted to go visit another onsen district, but we had no time left due to various reasons...so we went back to another Lucky Pierrot (mirror-themed? European painting-themed? We couldn't really tell what the theme was this time) one last time before going on the ferry back to Aomori. Ryan decided to get the biggest burger on the menu...the conversation/situation went a bit like this:

After already ordering one burger for himself to eat at the restaurant, while still trying to figure out what Raina and their mom wanted to order, he decided to ask about a certain burger...:

Cashier: Oh, that burger? It's about this tall. *she holds her hands about a foot apart* It's a huge burger.

Ryan, without hesitation: I'll take it. To Go.

That's my Pumpkin hahaha

Anyways, to be continued next time! :)

Monday, January 14, 2013

Christmas in Japan

Ah, one thing I forgot to mention...

Japanese people typically treat Christmas as a commercial holiday for couples. Fancy restaurants become booked on Christmas Eve, and people are often seen giving gifts to each other. Christmas day is actually a work day, so it doesn't really feel like Christmas anymore after Christmas Eve...

Anyways, another difference about Japanese Christmas. Japanese people typically don't eat turkey for Christmas. They eat chicken! More specifically, Kentucky Fried Chicken.

This was the line for a KFC in Shinjuku on Christmas Eve. Keep in mind that this particular KFC was on the 3rd floor of this building...

Where is the end to this line?!? Can you see it? Because we sure couldn't...
Crazy, huh?

Winter Vacation Pt.1

Hey everyone!  It's been another long while...

This week was my first week back at work after the best winter vacation ever! I happened to start my first day at work back at my visit school...ugh...

Anyways, winter vacation!!!  :D

Winter vacation didn't exactly start well.  The original plan was to meet up with Ryan ASAP to hang out with him until the hotel was ready. After that, we would explore and then have dinner with a couple friends from our TEFL program, Yumi and Sho.  hen, we would wait for Raina to arrive in Shinjuku. The next day, we would leave for Taiwan!!

Sounds great, but this plan had quite a few hitches in it.

I happily took the 4:30am bus to Tokyo (luggage and presents in tow) and, halfway, realized that I had left the most important thing back home: my passport. >.< So stupid... Because of this, I had to take the next bus back to Komagane. Luckily, I managed to catch one as soon as I got there. Unfortunately, this meant that Ryan had to wait in Ueno Park by himself until I came back (:[  I'm still so sorry Pumpkin!). I got back to Komagane around 12:30, but the next bus back to Shinjuku left in 20 mins, so I left my luggage with the attendants at the bus terminal, ran back to my house (in my boots), grabbed my passport, and came back to the bus stop, just in time to catch the next bus to Shinjuku. The roads were super crowded in the afternoon on Christmas, but I still managed to arrive in Shinjuku in time to have dinner with Yumi and Pumpkin (Sho had lost his phone, so we couldn't contact him).

The next day, we took the train to Haneda airport. Ryan ended up leaving his backpack with his passport and Taiwanese money on the train. He had to go on another train to try to get it back, but ultimately ended up missing the flight to Taiwan. Luckily, he got the flight changed to the next day at the same time for free!

Long story short, I wasted some money on accident and Ryan wasted some time on accident. Let's just say that we definitely won't be making those same mistakes ever again.

Anyways, I made it to Taiwan with Raina a day earlier than Ryan did. We wandered through Taipei and went to many, many night markets, explored many cities that I can't even begin to pronounce, visited temples, ate a lot of delicious food, got to hang out with family, tried our hand at karaoke, and went to Taipei 101 (EDIT: which was once the tallest building in the world, but is now a building in Dubai at the moment) to watch the New Year's Eve fireworks!

Here are some pictures of things that we did in Taiwan!!

Night market...so crowded!!
An amazing view of a temple and the Taiwanese coastline
A golden statue of a man reading (and not watching over his people lol)
Snake soup!!  Apprehensive at first only because I was eating it while facing the snake cage...



Shrimp Fishing!!  My favorite!  :]
After we caught the shrimp, the shopkeepers skewered them, grilled them, then gave them back to us to eat!  Yum!!  :D


We also ate fried whole mini-soft shell crabs!!  These were also delicious!


Pumpkin and I leaning in front of an angled museum.  I failed, as you can tell... >.>;;

Whiskey Distillery KaVaLan

Making Pottery!
The fireworks at Taipei 101!  Found on the internet.  Pumpkin took a video of these while they were going off, using my head/body as a unipod of sorts...

I will continue to upload pictures of things that we did during winter break periodically!! Please look forward to it!  :)

P.S.  Sorry for stealing your pictures, Pumpkin! Nevertheless, thank you!  ^.^